Flying towards you

What is it?

 

About Martin Garner

I am a Free Spirit
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Flying towards you

  1. I would probably say Black Tern until it moved and I got better views….then I might change my mind and say Little Gull or stay with Black Tern šŸ™‚

  2. beast says:

    well its definitely a bird…

    Could be one of Andrews guesses…..but how about a Sabines…?

  3. Calum Scott says:

    My first impression was of a Black Tern, however I suspect it might be a young Arctic Tern due to the sharply marked black primary edge on the underwing.

  4. Martin Garner says:

    thanks guys- it was one of 2 1st winter Little Gulls another photo here http://birdingfrontiers.com/2011/09/13/semipalmated-sandpiper-2/

  5. Dang. I got it right! First-winter little gull.
    My husband Bill and I got the first of state record Little Gull for West Virginia, but it was taken as “hypothetical” because it was only documented by my life sketches. Pffft.

  6. Calum Scott says:

    that tail pattern was screaming at me too that had me thinking LG, but I went along anyway with my hunch!!
    Good fun though-thanks for posting it.

Leave a Reply

