Quiz Bird from 2011

Any takers?

Photographed in November on Linosa- and you are getting a much better view in one photo than I did much of the time. Will be featured in talks in Kent (Thursday) and the Netherlands (Saturday). Have a guess…

About Martin Garner

I am a Free Spirit
This entry was posted in Warblers. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Quiz Bird from 2011

  1. Simon Woolley says:

    Eastern Ollie?

  2. James H says:

    I was thinking Western (ollie)

  3. Paul French says:

    Its either a Reed or a Marsh Warbler, hard to be sure from this angle but I’d favour Marsh.

  4. Adam Hutt says:

    I will go for Reed on the basis that Frenchy gone for Marsh. Long undertail covs of Acros.

  5. i was thinking fuscus Reed. As Adam says long UTCs plus rounded tail = acro. I reckon bill too spiky for Marsh but looks pretty cold toned despite the Linosan light.

  6. Sacha Barbato says:

    I would say Marsh despite the long (Reed like) bill. Legs and bill colour look OK for Marsh to me. Just can’t see the primary projection in the shot.
    Sacha

  7. Acrocephalus; I reckon Marsh Warbler, yellowish feet and white claws. It’d be good to see the primary extension (and hear it call). Yes, the bill looks really long and not broad enough at the base, but maybe it’s just the angle?
    Top website Martin!

  8. Julian Hough says:

    Based on leg color and long utc coverts and location, I’m in the Marsh camp.

  9. Finnish birder says:

    Looks 1w Acro (fresh plumage, no greyish colour on the upperparts and not any sign on moult)…> Against 1w Reed Warbler: too pale supercium; no clear eye ring (usually palest part of head in scirpaceus); too pale and short looking claws, >>Agains 1w Blyth’s Reed Warbler: no visible emarginations; all pale lower mandible; maybe slightly short bill, too colourful underpart …>>> so I’d favor 1w Marsh Warbler

  10. Long Utcs and other features lead me to unstreaked ‘Acro’. Long bill, open faced appearance seem to support Reed, but then there in no dark tip to lower mandible, the super flares before the eye as in Blyth’s Reed/Marsh. Pale feet, cold tones would seem to support Marsh Warbler. It just gives me a Reed feel nonetheless, is tere a hint of a short PP and a lack of contrast in the uppperwinf feathers. My shout=Reed Warbler (fuscus)

Leave a Reply

